Press Communique on GOVERNOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE-2024

The Hon'ble Governor has instituted the Governor's Awards for Excellence–2024 in recognition of outstanding contributions and voluntary service by individuals and organizations in four important sectors: Environment Protection, Divyangjan Welfare, Sports & Games, and Culture.

In November 2024, nominations were invited from individuals and organizations demonstrating excellence in their respective fields, with submissions accepted through both offline and online modes. The response was overwhelming, with 594 applications received across the four categories, reflecting widespread enthusiasm for these prestigious awards.

The nominations were extremely diverse in terms of demographics, geography, and gender. The youngest applicant is only 16 years old, and the oldest is 89. Of the submissions, 331 entries came from urban areas, such as the GHMC region, while 263 nominations came from rural parts of Telangana. The gender diversity is also very rich, with 356 male applicants, 96 female applicants, and 1 transgender applicant, which is truly reflective of the inclusive ethos of the awards.

The list of distinguished nominees includes renowned environmentalists, institutions promoting sustainability, advocates for Divyangjan welfare, talented para-athletes, and cultural icons committed to preserving India's artistic heritage. The first year has set a high benchmark, highlighting the broad appeal and significance of the awards.

Awards for Governor's Excellence are assessed by а Selection Committee, Awards headed Padmanabhaiah, IAS (Retd.) former Union Home Secretary and Padma Bhushan awardee. The jury comprises distinguished experts like Sri Anil Kumar, environmental activist; Dr. P. Hanumantha Rao, Padma Shri awardee and advocate for Divyangjan welfare; Dr. Pullela Gopi Chand, Padma Bhushan awardee, badminton legend, and coach; and Dr. Padmaja Reddy, Padma Shri awardee and Kuchipudi dance expert.

Each award carries a cash prize of ₹2,00,000 and a citation that recognizes the outstanding achievements of the awardees. The awardees will be felicitated by the Hon'ble Governor in a special ceremony on 26th January 2025.

LIST OF AWARDEES FOR GOVERNORS AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE-2024				
SI No.	Name of the field	Category	Name of the awardee	Address
1	Environment Protection	Individual	Dusharla Sathyanarayana	H.No. 11-4-548, Singri Colony, Nalgonda-508001
2	Divyangjan Welfare	Individual	Arikapudi Raghu	H.No.101, BDL Housing Colony, Ramachandrapuram Municipality Sangareddy Dist.
3	Sports & Games	Individual	Jeevanji Deepthi	D/o.J.Yadagiri H.No. 1-164, Village: Kalleda, Mandal: Parvathagiri Dist: Warangal-506104
4	Culture	Individual (jointly)	P.B. Krishna Bharathi	Flat No. A-305, MAYFLOWERGRANDE, Mallapur, Hyderabad-500076
			Prof. M. Pandu Ranga Rao	H.No. 1-1-894, Siddhartha Nagar, Kazipet, N.I.T.Post Warangal Dist-506004
5	Environment Protection	Organization	Dhruvansh Organization	Represented by Ms. Madhulika Choudhary Villa No. 60 Village: Prodduturu Mandal: Shankarpally Dist: Rangareddy
6	Divyangjan Welfare	Organization	L.V. Prasad Eye Institute.	Represented by Dr.Beula Christy Head & Consultant, Vision Rehabilitation Centre L.V.Prasad Eye Institute, Road No.2, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad.
7	Sports & Games	Organization	Foundation	Represented by Sri Aditya Jitendra Kumar H.No. 2-21-179, Shreeji Mehta Apartment, Viman Nagar, Behind Rasoolpura Hokey Stadium, Hyderabad
8	Culture	Organisation	Samskruti Foundation	Represented by Sri T.Rambabu, Co-Convenor H.No. 3-5-1090/G, Metro Pillar No. B1158, Narayanaguda, Hyderabad

-PRESS SECRETARY